Tags

, ,

Okay, I admit it: I’m a slow writer.  In my defense, this has been a fairly hard week at work, so I haven’t devoted as much writing time as I would have liked to the story.  However, I did manage to finish the 1st scene and I’m about mid-way through the 2nd scene.  So, as I see it, I’m probably averaging about a scene a week.  I’m planning for approximately 5 scenes, so if I keep this pace, I’m probably going to finish a little before Easter (Spring Break for me comes the week before Easter).  

This is one thing that I really need to work on: speed.  Five weeks for a short-story that will only earn $5-$25 from most markets isn’t going to cut it if I want to become a full-time writer.  

My problem isn’t that I don’t write quickly, but that I have a certain level of “quality” that I like in my drafts.  I know when I have a successful draft, and I know when I don’t.  That’s one of the reasons Skin Deep needs another rewrite rather than being put on the market.  I knew the draft had problems and needed work, but I kept going anyway.  I had personal reasons to force the draft through and get it done, but I sacrificed my own perception of quality in order to do so.  

Citizen X, on the other hand, meets my level of quality.  It doesn’t mean that it won’t need another draft (all my stories need to go through at least 3 drafts), but the 3rd draft will be more of a “polish” (deleting, editing, clarifying), while Skin Deep needs to be rewritten (reimagined) from the ground up while keeping only the basic plot elements that I came up with in the previous draft.  

I really should be at one short-story a quarter (i.e., 1 story every 3 months), but I’m already behind on that goal–Citizen X is my 1st new story of the year and it will be late April (well into the 2nd quarter) before I finish.  I think this  is going to be my (belated) New Year’s Resolution: 4 new stories this year (1 each quarter).   I’ll use the extra time to work on my longer form works–including starting my first novel.  

Let’s see if this slow writer can stick to this goal. 

