Dr Who

I watched the Dr. Who season premiere last night on BBC America.  I mostly liked it.  I thought that they maybe tried a little too hard to create a link between the “still cooking” Doctor scenes of David Tennent and Matt Smith.  Once the “mystery” was introduced and the Doctor and Clara began to investigate the mystery, that’s when I thought it settled down.  I began to like the episode at that point.  

As a Whovian, I have been watching Dr. Who since it “rebooted” with Christopher Eccleston.  I saw the first series with him, but missed episodes, not understanding that British TV runs their seasons differently from American TV.  I managed to catch the first (of the current Doctors) regeneration where Eccleston’s Doctor morphes into David Tennant’s Doctor.  However, because I still hadn’t figured out how British TV worked, I was still missing episodes, so I didn’t have to get used to David Tennent’s Doctor–there was no emotional investment on my part.  

It wasn’t until I saw the episode “Blink” that I was hooked.  “Blink” introduced the Weeping Angels and was probably the most suspenseful TV episode that I’ve ever seen with some beautiful emotional moments.  After that episode I made it my mission to figure out how British TV worked (I was helped that around that time I also discovered Top Gear–and both series helped me to figure out the way British TV works).   I followed Dr. Who since then, and I really did have to make the transition when David Tennent’s Doctor gave way to Matt Smith’s Doctor.  At first, I didn’t think I’d like the new interpretation (too mad-cap), but the episode was so well done and Amy and Rory played off each other so well that by the end when Matt Smith’s Doctor was in full form and calling the aliens back at the end to chastise them, I was totally on-board.

I said all that to say that the last scenes of last night’s episode, “Deep Breath,” while it didn’t grab me in the same way, I have hope that I’ll at least be able to like Peter Capaldi’s Doctor.  The mad-cap humor may be gone, but the wordplay more than makes up for it.   The final scenes where the Doctor mentions that he doesn’t think he’s a “hugger,” or a “fetcher,” and Clara’s responses to both was absolutely priceless.   I’ll try to revisit this again when this “season” ends to determine if I like Peter Capaldi’s Doctor Who.

I found a blog post from another blogger written about a year ago who wrote about the 5 Stages of Accepting a New Doctor Who.  The post is so spot-on that I want to link to it in this blog.  If you have a chance be sure to check it out–it’s a riot (& true too!)

 

 

