So I picked this rather provocative title, but all that I really want to say is that I finished one story and I’m beginning to work on another.  

I finished a short story that I’ve been working on for most of the spring and summer.  I, Magi is the story that I finished.  Readers of the blog will recognize the title as one that I was contemplating starting once I finished Citizen X.  I literally finished Citizen and started Magi right away.  I usually don’t work like that, but I was so enthused about the project that I couldn’t help myself.  Now that the project is done, I have at least 3 more short story ideas, but I find that I want to try longer works.  

I have Project Skye that I started on 2 weeks ago, but I have not worked on it since.  Today, while I wait on this week’s episode of Dr. Who, I want to work on a graphic novel project that I’ve had in my brain for a little while.  I’m calling it Project 51.  I would like it be a Sci-Fi project that I want to work on in tandem with Project Skye.  

The problem with working with longer projects is that they are marathons instead of sprints.  When it takes 2-3 months to sprint to the end of a short story, a novel, a graphic novel, or a screenplays seems like an ETERNITY.  At the rate I’m going, Project Skye may not become a reality until 2016/2017.  Project 51 may be done by the end of the school year, but that’s 10 months away.  That feels SO far away.  

How do you piece together the puzzle over months, over years, over decades, if necessary?  Creation takes time.  That’s the greatest flaw about creativity that most people don’t understand.  Even I fall victim to turning a blind eye to this fact.  I’m less than 2 weeks away from Destiny, a game that I’ve wanted since I first heard about in February 2013 and yet, I’m chomping at the bit to play it, to devour it, to lose myself in the world that Bungie has created, without regard for the amount of time they’ve spent on it.  

Another way to look at it would be this: imagine reading your favorite book 1 page at a time because that is how much you were allowed to read by some unnamed person, organization, etc.  Imagine how infuriating that would be.  That’s what its like to be a writer who wants to write long, but is limited by time.  It takes me so long to write something, to build something, that it is easy to freeze by looking at the enormity of how long it will take to finish what I want to accomplish.  

If I can find a solution to this problem, I’ll definitely post it here.  Some authors don’t have this problem–for them, writing long is easy.  I’m not one of them.  I’m a perfectionist, or at least, one who has a definite idea of how the project should go.  My philosophy has always been, “better to have it done right, even if you’re slow about it, than to have it fast and wrong.”  For some parts of my life, this has been helpful, but right now, trying to transition to a longer form writer, it is very discouraging to know that there are projects that I won’t see the end of for many months or years.  Somehow, someway, I need to find a way to make peace with this prospect, or I don’t think that I’ll ever mature into the writer that I would like to be.

