250 Words = 1 Typed Page

how-to-write-and-sell

This blog post is a little late this week (blame Fall Break as I’m trying to catch up with the myriad of things that I’ve gotten behind on) and this will be a shorter post.  I found the above book at a local used book store for about a dollar.  I’ve actually read this book before in the 90’s (?) at my local library, but they’ve long since “weeded” it from the collection.

250 WORDS = MANAGEABLE GOAL

I was reading an essay from one of the contributors and the author suggested writing 750 words per day.  Well, really the author suggested writing 3 typed pages per day, but (if you use a standard font like Courier) you’ll find that you average about 250 words per page.  This is pretty much considered standard, so 3 typed pages equals 250 * 3 = 750 words.  According to the author, if you do this consistently and diligently, you will end up with a novel length manuscript in about 90 days (3 months).  This seemed reasonable and I thought I’d give this a try last night as I am (as mentioned above) on Fall Break.

I managed 405 words in a little over an hour and a half.  Now, in my defense, I was working on a short-story that I hadn’t done any of the “Pre-Writing” that helps me, but that I haven’t been doing consistently (I did it for Dragonhawk and Here Be Monsters, but not for Ship of Shadows or Silence Will Fall, for instance).

After this experiment I want to do 2 things: 1) do my “Pre-Writing” for the story and 2) drop my target goal to 250 words a day (1 typed page).  As I seem to be locking in at about 4,000 words or so dropping down to 3 scenes instead of 5, it should take about 20 days to draft out a story (or 1 a month which has been a goal of mine for a long time).  250 words seems manageable to me based on my time and I know that I’m not going to be able to write consistently everyday–although I’m going to try for at least 4 days a week.

2 NEW PROJECTS – PROJECT FLEA AND PROJECT DUST

I’m going to try this out with two new projects: Project Flea and Project Dust.  Project Flea is a typical short-story, but Project Dust is a longer work.  It may be a while before I’m able to mention more about them, but they are in the “Pre-Writing” stages (both of them).  Project Flea is an entirely new story that just came to me earlier this month.  It isn’t from a dream or anything–it just popped into my head, while Project Dust has several pop culture inspirations including one from Dr. Who.  More on these two projects in the coming months.

Well, that’s all I have for now.  Until next time!

