Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

subtitled-screenings

Source: Yourlocalcinema.com

So sorry for being away, but I really wanted to make sure that I was completely immersed in my classes before I continued posting, writing, and doing all the things that I normally would do.  In the English class that I teach, I was showing parts of a foreign film and we were analyzing it, when one of the students asked what prompted me to watch this film that has subtitles.  For me, subtitled films are not a consideration.  As long as the film has elements of the fantasy, sci-fi, or (more rarely) horror genres, it doesn’t matter to me whether the film has subtitles or not.  I simply watch it for the story, no matter the need for subtitles.  This, however, got me thinking about some of the movies that I’ve watched with subtitles and I thought I’d list some of the more interesting ones.  Now, these aren’t ones that I think are the best–the first two on the list aren’t very good (from a narrative point of view), but they are interesting examples subtitled movies that make you appreciate them even though they use subtitles.  There are many more and I may (depending on time) update this list from time-to-time to reflect movies that I find interesting that use subtitles.  Below you will find the trailers and a brief description of the movie (from IMDB).

NIGHT WATCH (Russian)

A fantasy-thriller set in present-day Moscow where the respective forces that control daytime and nighttime do battle.

DAY WATCH (Russian)

A man who serves in the war between the forces of Light and Dark comes into possession of a device that can restore life to Moscow, which was nearly destroyed by an apocalyptic event.

KUNG FU KILLER (Chinese)

A martial arts instructor from the police force gets imprisoned after killing a man by accident. But when a vicious killer starts targeting martial arts masters, the instructor offers to help the police in return for his freedom.

DETECTIVE DEE AND THE MYSTERY OF THE PHANTOM FLAME

An exiled detective is recruited to solve a series of mysterious deaths that threaten to delay the inauguration of Empress Wu.

ONG BAK (THAILAND)

When the head of a statue sacred to a village is stolen, a young martial artist goes to the big city and finds himself taking on the underworld to retrieve it.

THE WAVE (Norway)

Although anticipated, no one is really ready when the mountain pass above the scenic, narrow Norwegian fjord Geiranger collapses and creates an 85-meter high violent tsunami. A geologist is one of those caught in the middle of it.

